Bulletproof Experiment

bulletproof

I am very confident in my technical ability to homeschool my children. What I am not confident in is my ability to maintain an appropriate energy level for homeschooling. I’ve been struggling a lot with tiredness and a number of small but frustrating other issues. This has awakened in me a desire to get my energy level under control by September for the beginning of our full time homeschooling journey. Hopefully I will find improvement in some other areas that impact my performance and emotional stability.

Where I am starting out:

  • Frequent fatigue (including a major early afternoon crash)
  • Brain fog
  • Digestive irregularities and pain
  • Nausea
  • Complexion problems (I feel like a teenager again!)
  • Frequent trips to the bathroom

Where I hope to be:

  • Awake!
  • Alert!
  • Regular and pain free!
  • Clear skinned!

I have long suspected that coffee may be the culprit of some of these issues (Ummm…I may have up to four cups a day), though I feel that the issues run deeper than that.

So for my benefit (and hopefully yours if you struggle with similar issues!), I plan to make myself a guinea pig for the next three months, testing out different ways to gain control over my energy level and reporting on their benefits.

My first  month-long experiment is the Bulletproof Experiment. Starting yesterday, the only coffee I am drinking is one cup of bulletproof coffee first thing in the morning. For the rest of the day, I may have other beverages but must drink at least eight glasses of water.

Bulletproof coffee was created by Dave Asprey, author of The Bulletproof Diet. It consists of butter or ghee (preferrably grass-fed), MCT oil, and coffee blended together. I like to add about a tablespoon and a half of collagen and a teaspoon of vanilla-flavoured, stevia-sweetened whey protein powder. He claims that it helps with attention and energy, food cravings, and avoiding a crash later in the day. Visit Laura Fuentes’s blog Fresh Living for a much longer explanation of bulletproof coffee and its effects on women.

Check back weekly for updates on how the experiment is going.

________________________________________________________________

Here are the some of the ingredients I am using in my Bulletproof coffee. They would not all be endorsed by Dave Asprey!

Disclaimer: Living Skies Schoolhouse is a participant in the Amazon.com.ca, Inc. Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.ca.

4 thoughts on “Bulletproof Experiment

  1. Pingback: Bulletproof Experiment Diary: Week One – living skies schoolhouse

  2. Pingback: Bulletproof Experiment Diary: Week 2 – living skies schoolhouse

  3. Pingback: Bulletproof Experiment Diary: Week 2 | Carrie Branstetter

  4. Pingback: Plexus Experiment – Chasing Wholeness

Leave a Reply

